Dropbox Direct Download

admin

Allow.dropbox and other Dropbox domains to access the internet. Learn more about the domains officially used by Dropbox. Dropbox supports most proxies. If you use a proxy to access the internet, you can specify your proxy settings within Dropbox desktop app preferences. Learn how to use a proxy with Dropbox. We use the one of these Google Drive or Dropbox services to store our files securely over the internet. But, these services don't provide us a direct url of. Downloading Dropbox. Your Dropbox download should automatically start within seconds. Once the download finishes, click Run to start installing Dropbox.

  1. Dropbox Direct Download Not Working
  2. Dropbox Direct Download Link Generator
  3. Dropbox Direct Download Link

Dropbox Transfer is a simple way to send files you don’t need to collaborate on. For example, you might use Dropbox Transfer to deliver a finished product or contract to a client.

Dropbox Transfer gives transfer owners more control than sharing a folder because:

  • Transfer owners can see the number of times a transfer was viewed or downloaded
  • Files shared via a transfer won’t appear in the recipient’s Dropbox folder
  • Transfers automatically expire after 7 days
  • Recipients can’t edit files within a transfer

When you send a transfer, the recipient will receive a link with your name, the name of your transfer, a list of file names and sizes, and the expiration date of the transfer. Recipients can share the transfer link. A Dropbox account is not required to access or download a transfer.

Direct

The size limit of your transfer depends on the plan you have.

Dropbox Direct Download Not Working

  • Basic (free): 100MB
  • Plus: 2GB
  • Family: 2GB
  • Professional: 100GB
  • Business Standard: 2GB
  • Business Advanced, Enterprise, or Education: 100GB

Note: Members of Dropbox Business teams that have purchased the Creative Tools Add-On can send transfers up to 250 GB in size.

Customers on a Dropbox Professional, Business Advanced, Enterprise, or Education plan have the option to customize transfers with expiration dates, passwords, and a logo or background, and to see who has viewed or downloaded a transfer.

How to create a transfer

To create a transfer on dropbox.com:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click the grid icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Click Transfer from the menu that appears.
  4. Click Create transfer.
  5. You can add files to your transfer in one of three ways:
    • Click the plus icon
    • Drag and drop files from your computer
    • Click Add from Dropbox
  6. Click the edit icon (pencil) to enter a name for your transfer, if you’d like.
  7. Click the gear icon to set an expiration date or password.
    • Transfers are automatically set to expire after 7 days, but Professional, Business Advanced, Enterprise, and Education users have the option to add a password and increase the expiration, up to a year.
  8. Click Create transfer.
  9. Click Copy link or Send with email.

To create a transfer from your computer:

  1. Finder (Mac), File Explorer (Windows), or the Dropbox folder on your computer.
  2. Right-click the file or folder you’d like to add to the transfer.
  3. Click Send with Transfer…
  4. Click the gear icon to set an expiration date or password.
    • Transfers are automatically set to expire after 7 days, but Professional, Business Advanced, Enterprise, and Education users have the option to add a password and increase the expiration, up to a year.
  5. Click Create transfer.
  6. Click Copy link or Send with email to share your transfer link.

Note: The Dropbox desktop app must be installed to send transfers from your computer.

Dropbox Basic, Plus, Family, and Professional users can create a transfer using an iOS device. To do so:

  1. Open the Dropbox app on your iPhone/iPad.
  2. Tap Create (plus icon).
  3. Tap Transfer Files.
  4. Tap Add from Dropbox or Add from Camera Roll and select files to add to your transfer.
    • Note: You can’t add folders to a transfer on iOS at this time
  5. Tap Continue.
  6. Tap Set expiration to choose an expiration date.
    • Transfers are automatically set to expire after 7 days. Any user can decrease the number of days, but Professional users have the option to increase the expiration, up to a year.
  7. Tap Add password to add a password for your transfer (available only to Dropbox Professional users).
  8. Tap Continue.
  9. Tap Email or Get link to share your transfer link.

How to download and install the Dropbox desktop app

Once installed, you’ll be prompted to either sign in or create a new account.

How to install the desktop app with admin privileges

The Dropbox desktop app requires admin privileges to run with full functionality on your computer. This enables multiple different core features of Dropbox, including:

  • Sync icons that show the sync status of files and folders
  • Right-click context menus for taking quick actions in Dropbox
  • Access to Smart Sync
Windows

For the vast majority of users, the desktop app is automatically installed with admin privileges. However, if you didn't install with admin privileges you can follow the instructions below to do so.

Note: If you don't have admin rights on your computer (for example if you're using a work computer), you may need to ask your IT department for help.

Install the Dropbox desktop app with admin privileges

  1. If you already have Dropbox installed, uninstall the application.
  2. Open the installer.
    • Do not right-click, and do not command-click Run as an Administrator
  3. Follow the instructions in the install wizard.
    • If you’re asked for an administrative username and password, enter them or contact your administrator to sign in.
    • If you’re not asked for an administrative username and password, you’re already an admin on your computer.
  4. Complete the installation and sign in to Dropbox.

Smart Sync and admin privileges

Some Dropbox users will have access to Smart Sync. If you have access to this feature, check that Dropbox is installed with admin privileges on each computer where the feature will be used.

Depending on the policies at your organization, your team members may be able to install Dropbox with admin privileges on their own. If not, they may need the assistance of your IT team.

Why does the Dropbox desktop app for Mac require Keychain access?

Keychain is a password management system for Mac. Dropbox requires access to your Keychain to help verify your account and to provide another layer of security over the Dropbox app preferences.

  • To grant Keychain access to Dropbox, click Allow or Always Allow (recommended for seamless access) when prompted to do so from Mac.
  • Clicking Deny will result in a 'Couldn't start Dropbox' error message. For security reasons, Dropbox will not start without access to your Keychain.

What is the Dropbox Web Helper for macOS?

Dropbox Web Helper supports the Dropbox user interface on Mac computers. It only runs when the desktop app is running. Dropbox Web Helper is an independent process, so it may start and stop at different times than the desktop app. If you adjust your firewall or antivirus software for Dropbox, we recommend similar adjustments for Dropbox Web Helper.